Student counselling is a process that provides you with important information and guidance during the various stages of your studies.

The starting point for studying and study guidance is that you take responsibility for your own studies. The university of applied sciences is obliged to provide sufficient guidance to enable you to create a meaningful degree that meets your goals and that you can achieve within the timeframe and in the manner specified in the goals.

Study guidance is a day-to-day activity that is based on the student’s needs. The entire staff of the university takes part in study guidance. High-quality study guidance helps the student in better planning of the studies and in preventing and solving problems related to the progress of the studies.

Assessment of learning

The purpose of assessment is to support the achievement of the competences that have been set as the objective of the degree programme. The assessment of learning at Xamk is based on the learning outcomes (knowledge-based competence, skills-based competence, teamwork skills/leadership skills/readiness to take responsibility) of the European and National Qualifications Framework (EQF and NQF) as well as on the university’s generic and programme-specific learning outcomes. The assessment criteria applied at South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences is based on the EQF and NQF frameworks. A completed course is graded on a scale from 1 to 5 or given the mark H (pass), and a failed course is given the mark 0 (zero). Grade 1 is the approved level.

Accredited and substituted studies are marked with H (pass) if a numerical grade is not applicable.  All supervised practical training that aims to improve the student’s professional competence, is assessed according to the scale pass/fail and the final thesis according to the scale 0–5. The maturity test included in the final thesis is assessed on a pass/fail-basis.

Grading scale at Xamk:

5 = Excellent
3-4 = Good
1-2 = Satisfactory
0 = Failed
H = Passed

The student’s learning is also evaluated by assessing the learning outcomes of modules. This can take place as self-assessment by the student. Modules are not graded; instead, the purpose of assessing them is to view learning outcomes as larger entities than courses and to help you to reflect on the progress of your learning in a wider perspective.

Assessment criteria for bachelor’s degree (pdf): assessment_bachelor

Assessment criteria for master’s degree (pdf): assessment_master

Recognition of prior learning

Recognition of prior learning (RPL) promotes the smooth progress of studies and students’ motivation. You do not have to study what you already know and can focus on skills that you need to develop. It is also possible to acquire required skills through work experience while you study. Recognition of prior learning is possible in Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes.

Prior learning acquired in different environments is valuable and can be demonstrated through the RPL process. You will receive further instructions for RPL in the beginning of studies.

Degree regulations

The updated degree regulations for Xamk are effective as of 1 January 2024.